REAL is the new SEXY

It’s so radical to be authentic these days that it has an enigma all of it’s own.
It’s very powerful to be visible with your vulnerabilities, it shakes people up in the places where they are too scared to be so visible. Listen to their judgements. They give you the map of exactly where those folks are stuck. Feel your reactions in your body, it’s the map of where you believe them.
it’s powerful and disruptive to be generous and to not run your life and business with the usual scarcity-addicted model, but to be inclusive and open handed, that takes courage, cultivates trust and is progressive. Notice how hard some find it to receive your generosity, how uncomfortable receiving can be for them even when the gift is freely given. Notice who warns you to be less giving.
It is powerful to show your neediness some days, to show your unreasonable anger, your inappropriateness – it takes courage to be so visible and risk the approval vanishing. It is revolutionary to wear no masks, no hats and be the same ‘you’ in business as at home. Why do we exhaust ourselves wearing masks for people who need us to be other than our real selves? I recommend removing the masks and seeing who stays. The ones that do really get you and are the ones you want to hang out with and work with.
Authentic people are enigmatic because most people are so comfortable in their hiding, conforming, disempowered state that someone brave enough to be simply real is fascinating.
Where have you been hiding? What mask is it time to take off?

Come and laugh so tenderly and foolishly with me that all these outdated strategies effortlessly dissolve –
All workshops and talks at www.jamiecatto.com
https://twitter.com/JamieCatto

15 comments

  1. Hi Jamie, I’m a new reader of your blog. It’s reassuring to “hear” someone else reminding me to stop and take a close and attentive look at myself. Thank you
    nuno

  2. This is bang on time for me. I just posted a note being honest about the disappointment I felt from my efforts at crowdfunding and boy did I get some reaction. I love when you say “Feel your reactions in your body, it’s the map of where you believe them.” That’s the ticket home! xox

  3. 🙂 as ever, a delightful and naked show of tenderness humour courage and truth. Always thought provoking and inspirational
    🙂 ❤

  4. I am doing this right now and really getting a lot of strong reactions. Some are supportive and some very critical. When I’m met with a confrontational type criticism or judgement I can feel myself beginning to panic, I’m not used to feeling that discomfort or lack of acceptance. Is also noticing that people are telling me to be less open and giving as either I will begin to annoy folks or I will be taken advantage of. Mostly though I can say that I being open has not in any way been detrimental. I think you realise that what you were afraid might happen is actually a delusional deterrent. When you can at last remove the mask it does offer a HUGE relief. It’s also quite funny how some people can’t make head nor tail of it when you step outside usual system of approval conformity. Quite amusing 😜

  5. Your words are life to me … I got very hard times with woman’s understanding normal values of tenderness, other that born from those every day scarcity-addicted models. We live in a sad and terrible world and woman’s are not yet awakened to the true consciousness of man. They have no clue on what authentic mind means, simply because of implacability of the aristocracy in this modern times – they became headless priestess of decay and decadence.

  6. Brilliant!.. I love this I am going through many changes in my life at the moment and friends and family have struggled with this. This piece has spured me on to remove my masks and just be me where ever I am and who ever I’m with.
    Looking forward to your workshop in December.

  7. I can’t even tell you how right on this is…great work Jamie, I love this post!

Leave a comment